The Five Fingers of Shoshin Ryu

Shoshin Ryu is based on traditional Japanese martial arts, with adaptations from several other styles.  We focus on personal growth in training, responsibility for one’s own happiness and harmony, and learning effective self-defense techniques and concepts for avoiding injury in self and others.  Core self-defense is taught with attention to practical and realistic self-defense situations.

The five primary areas of focus, or the Five Fingers of Shoshin Ryu are

Atemi Waza Blocks, kicks, and strikes
Nage Waza Throws and throwing skills
Ne Waza Groundwork and grappling skills
Kata Forms or patterns of movement
Weapons Stick, knife, bo, tonfa, and Iai-do (training at higher levels only)